Privacy and Identity Protection

Trying to get some insurance quotes… It used to be so easy to call an agent and get a quote over the phone in seconds really. And then came the convenience to get a comparison of rates online… Still easy and straight forward in the early days. 

But now I find myself being stripped naked virtually… I have to give my full name, full address, phone, email, date of birth, driver license and social security just to get someone to call me back. And the questions don’t stop there before I even get a quote!

To have to give all this information to every person I call to get a quote while I am shopping for a good rate and good service is alarming. Not to say annoying when I am subsequently bombarded with texts, calls and emails from even more sales people in the days and weeks that follow my inquiry.

But… Where is my right to privacy and safety and security? I do not want to give all this information to anyone until I decide to buy insurance and even then I should be able to protect at least my social security number.  

We hear about identity theft all the time and here I am forced to give up all my personal information just to get a quote! And worse, whoever gets hold of my SSN has power over my credit report – yes, any inquiry against the SSN is recorded and weighs in on my credit score – and over my credibility and value and buying power.

I like progress and development and easier access to what I need… But in the age of cell phones and internet and the myriad if hackers, rhieves, scammers and other crooks, I draw a line at who I am allowing in. Just because I give someone my number I do not invite a myriad of texts or phone calls from hundreds sales and call centers. I expect only that one person to call me back…

I find it increasingly unpleasant to own a cell phone and use the internet. 

Leave a Reply

